Teacher of the Year

Numerous Chillicothe R-II Staff members were honored today (Tuesday) for their years of service, for excellence in the District, and as recipients of a Department of Elementary and Secondary--sponsored scholarship during the annual service and awards program held at the Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center. The event kicked off a day of professional development for teachers and staff members.

Chillicothe Education Foundation President Ed Douglas handed out the awards to the nominees from each building, and presented the top awards - Teacher of the Year and Beacon Award - to Chillicothe Elementary School teacher Shelley Hayen and Dewey School para-professional, Cinda Figg, respectively. Hayen received $1,500 cash and $1,000 for educational items to be used within the classroom. Figg received $200 as the Beacon Award Nominee from Dewey School and $200 as this year’s Beacon Award winner.

Other nominees for the Teacher of the Year Award were: Jill Allen, Field; Lily Pyrtle, Dewey; Shaylee Rademacher, CMS; Ellen Duckworth, CHS, and Bill Shaffer, GRTS. Each nominee received $1,000 for educational items to be used within the classroom and a $750 cash stipend.]

The remaining Beacon Award nominees were: Sara Eller, CES/CELC; Rose Perkins, Field; Robin Morales, CMS; Andrea Graves, CHS; Anna Plattner, GRTS; and Darrell Wright, District. These Beacon Award nominees received $200. 

"We are so grateful for the Chillicothe Education Foundation's support so that our outstanding teachers and support staff can be recognized for their dedication to the District's students," Dan Wiebers, superintendent said. “We are very blessed to have such a great staff working hard to do their jobs and exceed all expectations.”

The presentation followed the recognition of staff members who have earned service pins. Clint Williams, President of the Chillicothe Board of Education, handed out the pins. Members of the R-II Staff who were recognized for their years of service were as follows:

5 Years of Service

(ABOVE, FROM LEFT) Five years of service: John Parks, Daniel Savage, Tonia Akerson, Kerrie Mattox, Haley Minnis, Ladona Brewer, Everett Shipp, Tiffany Cassidy, Shannon Marsh, Jennifer Dixon, Jessica O'Berry, Carley Carey, Dr. Dan Wiebers, Amber Scott, and Erin McQuinn. Not pictured, Tamy Ewing

10 Years of Service

Ten years of service, from left: Reid Stephens: Holly Thompson, Sara Eller, Katherine Jones, Chad Smith, Darren Smith, Lee Rucker and Canaan Fairley. Not pictured: Adrienne Allen, Cindy Glidewell and Richard Wilson.

15 Years of Service

(ABOVE) Fifteen years of service, from left: Anne McKiddy, Inger Young, Sonja Daley. Not pictured is Andrea Marriott.

25 Years of Service

(ABOVE) Twenty-five years of service, from left: Jenny Hill, Lisa Bevelle, Donna Good, James Wheeler, and Kimberly Kieffer. Not pictured is Jennnifer Jackson.

30 Years of Service

(ABOVE) Thirty years of service: Pamela Chapman (center), Susan Keller (left), and Ken Stull (right).

Grow Your Own

(ABOVE) Staff members receiving $1,250 Grow Your Own Scholarships were: Ashley Gauthier,  Amada Hall, Brooke Horton, Tiffany Cassidy, Shannon Marsh, Konner Sewell, Misty Weaver, and Heather Alterauge

A reception, sponsored by the local chapter of CEA, was held following the program in the Performing Arts Center for those recognized.

(BELOW) Beacon Award Nominees are, from left: Robin Morales, CMS; Anna Plattner, GRTS; Andrea Graves, CHS; Cinda Figg, Dewey; Sara Eller, CES; and Darrell Wright, District. Not pictured is Rose Perkins, Field.

Beacon Award Nominees