Mini Grant

Several Chillicothe R-II staff members received good news this (Monday) morning, when Superintendent Dan Wiebers and a few members of the Chillicothe Education Foundation surprised them with certificates naming them winners of 2024 Spring Mini Grants.

The Chillicothe Education Foundation funds the mini-grant competition each semester in its commitment to supporting excellence in education. This round of mini-grant winners included eight applications which totaled over $3,426.77  in winnings. The funds from the grants will be used to enhance the classroom experience and upgrade equipment and technology throughout the District.

Superintendent Dan Wiebers expressed his thanks to the Chillicothe Education Foundation and noted that the competition for these grants is always very competitive and the latest installment of entries was no exception.

“We just have incredible teachers and staff members willing to go the extra mile to make sure our students are thriving in our buildings,” Wiebers said. He added, “Thanks to the continuing support of the Chillicothe Education Foundation, our staff can utilize new and different technology and teaching strategies to keep students interested, involved and excited about learning new things.”     

The winners of the Spring 2024 Mini Grants for the second semester were:

  • Bekah Anderson, CHS - 9th-12th Grades: “Demonstration Document Camera,” $203.40

  • Kari Snyder, CES - 1st Grade: “Empowering Readers and Writers Through Listening Comprehension,” $373.63 (Patty Palmer)

  • Rachael Wheeler, CHS - 9th-12th Grades: “The World at our Fingertips,” $500

  • Amy Dixon and Ben Coult - K-5th Grades: “Helping Kids with What MATers,” $462.99

  • Heather Davis, Dewey - 5th Grade: “Reading Can Expand the Minds of Children,” $487.53

  • Rebecca Gilliland, Dewey - 5th Grade: “Handful of Powerful Words,” $501.60

  • Lauren Quick, CHS - 9th-12th Grades: “STEM in Science and Health,” $397.53

  • Sophie Chambers, Gifted - K-8th Grades: “Bringin Back Geography Skills,” $500

Rachel WheelerKari SnyderHeather DavisRebecca GillilandBen CoultBekah Anderson